The Saints walk with us

Louis-Zelie+Martin

“God gave me a father and a mother more worthy of heaven than of earth.”

– St. Therese of Lisieux

As I mentioned in my last post I spent the better part of the holidays watching movies about Saints.  I know that is what we are all called to be, that our ultimate goal is heaven, so I thought it would be good to see how these Saints lived their lives.  Upon reflecting on their stories it occurred to me that most of them were Priests or Sisters.  St. Rita was married and had children, but it seemed her total abandonment to God came after their deaths, though she was a faithful wife and mother in very difficult circumstances, and of course after their deaths she became a Sister.

I was mentioning this to my Spiritual Director.  That it somehow seemed harder to become a Saint when you live in the secular world and not within the confines of the convent or monastery or church.  He agreed that it probably was harder because quiet is necessary to hear God and that quiet is part of the Consecrated life.  Families don’t always necessarily get that if they don’t make time.  But we know there are married Saints, so it can be done.

Then he gave me my assignment.  He gave me a list of Saints.  These are companion Saints for the year.  He said to print the list out.  Cut them into strips, so there is only one Saint for each strip, and put them in a bowl. Then gather my family and have each member pick a name.  He told me, we are not really picking them, they are picking us.  He said we may not know the reason right away why we picked them, but once we read their story and pray the intention at the bottom of the paper we would soon know.

It was 18 pages of Saint names.  It took a lot of cutting.  My son helped fold them up.  We gathered around the table and picked names.  My oldest son picked, St. Damien of Molokai with the intention to pray for the holiness and perseverance of priests and religious in the missions.  My middle son picked St. Dismas with the intention of praying for the conversion of criminals.  I found it interesting that one son will be praying for Priests and one for criminals.  My daughter picked Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati with the intention of praying for the youth and those who want to commit suicide.  My husband picked St. John Neumann with the intention to pray for teachers, catechists, and all entrusted with the instruction of children. (Since I am a catechist, I am happy he will be praying for me!)

As I reached in, wondering who would pick me, I grabbed Blessed Louis and Zelie Martin with the intention to pray that holiness may be born in families.  I didn’t need to wait to know why they picked me.  God was answering my lament directly.  It can be done, Susan, here let me show you who will walk with you this year, parents of children, just like you.  And so my year with Louis and Zellie begins.  God will show me the fruit of this walk I am sure.

God Bless each and everyone of you this year.

About veilofveronica

I am a mother and wife as well as an RCIA and Adult Faith Formation catechist at a parish in the south. I have 3 children and a great husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Saints walk with us

  1. jnursester says:

    We did this in my Third Order Carmelite group several years ago. I got picked by a male Saint named Albert ( I cannot even remember his entire name now but he was from Italy) and he nursed plague victims. I am a nurse, and at the time I was doing psychiatric nursing and many of my patients were homeless schizophrenics. Gods ways are not ours, and they are PERFECT!

  2. Susan, your spiritual heroism is a crutch for me to lean on to follow you to do the same. Thank you for this post.

  3. deereverywhere says:

    Hi Susan, I snuck over here from Charlie’s website and I love this article. I am the only one who would do it and i don’t have a printer to print the 18 pages out. I use a kindle to web surf so I closed my eyes and swoosh my finger up and down the page the first time I was at the very bottom of the page. The second time I came up with St. Edith Stein. The theme is to pray for those who do not know God! How wonderful is that. My step son’s (who lives in Memphis) ex wife, mother to my grand daughter s, will not allow the word God spoken in her home. My granddaughters now 21 and 23 have no religious affiliation and the older one has decided she is gay. The younger one is cohabiting with her boyfriend. When they lived here for eight years I did take them to church a few times and taught them the Angel of God prayer. They.moved to Missouri with their mother and her new husband about eight years ago. So,I am already praying for people who haven’t a clue! Scott Hahn’s book Angels and Saints (or saints and angels) is on sale today for$1.99. On Amazon Edith Stein (Teresa Benedicta) isn’t listed but he mentions her in like the third chapter! Isn’t that wonderful. You are doing a great job! Keep up the great work!

    • Thank you. I will pray for your family!

    • Marie says:

      Thanks for this idea! I opened the list in my browser, closed my eyes and swished the page up and down, then put my finger on the page to make it stop.

      When I opened my eyes to see which Saint I landed on, I gasped. It was one of my favorite Saints, with the intention of praying for holy women in all states of life!

      Here it is:

      “Saint Catherine of Siena, Virgin and Doctor of the Church

      April 29th

      “Eternal Trinity, Godhead, mystery deep as the sea, you could give me no greater gift than the gift of yourself.”

      Pray for holy women in all states of life”

      Also, this is especially fitting because I was going to write a reply before doing this that I have lived both in the world as a person pursuing a relationship with God, as well as in a very austere monastic Community, which I ultimately had to leave due to my health.

      I have found that God worked in my soul vigorously in both states of life, and that I was not deprived of His assistance to reach union with Him simply because I lived in the world.

      If that were true, then God Himself would be calling us to a state of life that was contrary to His holy will…that is, that we become Saints.

      In the world, it is the sufferings and contradictions of our state of life that will purify us and lead us to the surrender which He asks of us.

      He is faithful and it is possible to become Saints in the world. After all the Blessed Virgin Mary and St Joseph were Saints living in the world.

      The monastic life has its own challenges. If we are serious and generous in our interior lives and asceticism, God will purify us in the world just as well.

      In this connection I would recommend Caussade’s book entitled Spiritual Abandonment to Divine Providence, in which he addresses this very question.

      • deereverywhere says:

        Oh, Marie when I first read that the Saints pick you, I knew how right it is. We have a young man, Anthony John who is studying to be a priest in the Dominican monastery in St. Louis. He told the story of when one of the Dominican Saints went to heaven and was looking around for the other Dominican s he found none. Our Lady asked what was wrong and he said ‘Holy Mother, I see no Dominican ‘ that is when she opened her mantle and they were all there. Thank you for you wonderful example. Pax

      • Thank you. I will be getting that book!

  4. lupe Serenil says:

    I would like to send my email to receive Charlie’s message

Leave a Reply

