My visit with a Mystic (who doesn’t like to be called Mystic)

Susan and Charlie

Me and Charlie Johnston on Pentecost Sunday 2016

“I am ‘the voice of one crying out in the desert,  Make straight the way of the Lord,”’ John 1:23

On Pentecost Sunday this year my Spiritual Director arranged for Charlie Johnston and I to meet.  He came to visit me at my house.  I didn’t really know what to say, a mystic in my house and all.  I like Charlie and I follow his blog and what he is saying.  I have paid close attention to what Charlie’s Bishop said about him… no condemnation…I will always abide by what the church says.

My dog, Rosie (also known as St. Rose of Lima) did not bark at him.  She barks at everyone.  Charlie told me some call him Doctor Doolittle.  I seriously was astounded she didn’t go crazy barking, she always does.

Charlie says he doesn’t like being called a mystic.  He says he is here to spread hope.  He definitely does that.  I spoke with him about many things, my fears, my questions.  In the end I walked away with a duty.  To remain true to my promise to God.  I will not go into everything we talked about, but I will tell you to remain in faith and hope.

Each of us has a calling, a gift of the Holy Spirit.  I know my purpose.  I am here to tell you that God loves you.  I am here to tell you that there is a life of love and joy in Jesus Christ.  I am here to let you know that God’s promise is true.  He is here to prosper you and not to harm you.  This does not mean that we won’t suffer.  In fact, I believe we all will suffer.  But if you trust in the Lord, even when you can’t see, He will never abandon nor forsake you.  If hope becomes an act of will, ask God to make your will one with His.  Our God is good, all the time.  Remember that in the coming months and years.  If you have been running from God, stop, let Him love you, and change the way you are living.   It is fitting that Charlie came to visit on Pentecost Sunday.  I am passionate for Christ and feel the call to go out and make disciples of all nations, just as Pentecost enabled the early church to do.  God Bless each and every one of you.

** For those of you who don’t know, I found out about Charlie because on December 20, 2014 I had a dream and other bloggers pointed out that it was the same day Charlie had a vision.

About veilofveronica

I am a mother and wife as well as an RCIA and Adult Faith Formation catechist at a parish in the south. I have 3 children and a great husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My visit with a Mystic (who doesn’t like to be called Mystic)

  1. jnursester says:

    I’m glad you got to meet him. I wish I had been able to arrange for him to meet my cats! I call his gift “the St. Francis Effect”

  2. I met him when I tried to coordinate a visit here. It didn’t work out (opposition) so he had a private dinner with a few of us and a private Mass with my spiritual director, a very holy priest, Father Joe James who we call “our Padre Pio”. (He reads souls). I think Charlie is a great mystic on the order of St. Teresa of Avila and others. I correspond with him from time to time.
    I have also been following your blog and love it.

  3. Hopenjoy says:

    I was struck by your phrase “I know my purpose.” Years ago, I picked up a Protestant book, “The Purpose Driven Life.” I started to read it, then said/prayed something like “Lord God, could you reveal my purpose to me BEFORE I read this book, so I can learn based on that?!”. Immediately what popped into my head was this; “To live a joyful, authentically Catholic life for Jesus.” A few years later, the Lord added to that: “Tell people I love them, that’s it, that’s the work.” So, Judith, keep up the GOOD WORK!

  4. Hopenjoy says:

    I was struck by your phrase “I know my purpose.” Years ago, I picked up a Protestant book, “The Purpose Driven Life.” I started to read it, then said/prayed something like “Lord God, could you reveal my purpose to me BEFORE I read this book, so I can learn based on that?!”. Immediately what popped into my head was this; “To live a joyful, authentically Catholic life for Jesus.” A few years later, the Lord added to that: “Tell people I love them, that’s it, that’s the work.” So, keep up the GOOD WORK!

Leave a Reply

